National football squad off to Europe

Last Updated on

Sourced Information: 

The senior men’s St. Kitts-Nevis National Football Team departed the federation on Wednesday, 31st May for several encounters in Europe.


Speaking ahead of the tour, Anthony Johnson, the president of the St. Kitts-Nevis Football Association (SKNFA), said the tour is one of opportunities, exposure and about gaining experience.


Commenting before the team’s departure, Johnson said, “It is a significant step, again, in the right direction, because it exposes our players to more challenging circumstances, playing in different stadiums, playing in different conditions, as far as the weather is concerned.”


He continued, “It is also about being exposed to more coaching and scouting opportunities, because they would be seen by a different market, with the hope that some of them would be offered contracts.”


According to the SKNFA president, going to Europe where there are far more clubs, far more opportunities, in terms of professional contracts, presents important opportunities for development in the federation’s football standard, but it is also a significant avenue for the development of national players.


On the team’s departure, Johnson said, “We wish the team the very best. The head coach, Mr. Passy, and his team have worked very hard in order to prepare for this tour.”


Continuing, he said, “The players, we believe, will take advantage of the opportunity. We urge them to go out and display their best, both on and off the field, and do St. Kitts and Nevis proud.”


Head Coach Jacques Passy recently announced the 20-man squad for the 2017 European Tour.


The players are:


​1​Romaine Sawyers – Brentford FC, UK 

​2​Jamal Jeffers – St. Paul’s United FC -St. Kitts and Nevis  

​3​Thrizen Leader – St. Paul’s FC 

​4​Gerard Williams – W Connection – Trinidad 

​5​Errol O’LOUGHLIN- Conaree FC – St. Kitts and Nevis  

​6​Lois Maynard – Tranmere Rovers, UK

​7​Carlos Bertie – Cayon FC, St. Kitts and Nevis 

​8​Jason St Juste – Boston United, UK

​9​Jacob Hazel – Scarborough Athletic FC, UK

​10​Justin Springer – Canada 

​11​Harrison Panayiotou – Barrow FC, UK 

​12​Michael Nottingham – Salford City, UK

​13​Omari Sterling – Solihull Moors, UK

​14​Theo Wharton – Cardiff City FC, UK

​15​Zephaniah Thomas – Frickley Athletic, UK

​16​Kimaree Rogers – Village Superstars, St. Kitts and Nevis 

​17​Raheem Somersall – Appalachian State, USA

​18​Tishan Hanley – Trail FC, Philippines 

​19​Nathan Lescott. – Leicester City, UK

​20​G’Vaune Amory – Village Superstars St. Kitts and Nevis 


The coaching staff is led by Head Coach Jacques Passy. He is accompanied by Assistant Coach Jeffrey Hazel, Physio Kenny Douglas, Equipment Manager Leroy Sweeney, Manager Keithly Pemberton, Eduardo Suarez, Jonathan Himelfarb and Hector Herrera.


The national team is scheduled to play Armenia on 4th June and Georgia on 7th June.


This is the national team’s second tour to Europe having undertaken a similar tour in 2016.


Call Us At 663-8010 To Place Your Order

error: Our Content Is protected !!