Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.


Queen Miss Independent to represent St. Kitts in the Leeward Islands Calypso Competition in Anguilla

By: T. Chapman

St. Kitts and Nevis’ National Carnival Calypso Monarch, Queen Miss Independent will represent St. Kitts in the Leeward Islands Calypso competition in Anguilla on August 8th, 2018.

At a handing over ceremony at the Office of Hon. Shawn Richards, Deputy Prime Minister with responsibility for Culture presented Karissa Willett, the reigning National Carnival Monarch with a cheque of $3500 to be used for show preparations.

The ceremony was chaired by the St. Kitts and Nevis National Carnival Committee Chairman, Noah Mills and in attendance was Jermaine Lake, Chairperson of the Senior Calyspso Show.

Richards in presenting the cheque, highlighted that the total contribution amounts to $7000.00. The Minister of culture used the opportunity to wish Queen Miss Independent the best in Anguilla and hoped that she would also make history.

St. Kitts’ participation in the Annual Event over the years has been fruitful. Five kittitans have the distinction of winning the coveted crown in the Leeward Island Calypso Competition. They are, Richie Buntin, Ayatollah, Pungwa, Socrates and King Konris. Will Miss Independent add her name to this list?

In giving brief remarks, Willett used the opportunity to thank everybody who has pushed her thus far. She said, “I will do my very best.”

Call Us At 663-8010 To Place Your Order