Last Updated on

By: T. Chapman

A new decade has ushered in a fresh start for Nevis Cricket. After the convening of the long overdue general meeting of the Nevis Cricket Association which was held on Wednesday 05th Feburary 2020 at the Conference Room of the Nevis Credit Union, Mr. Carlisle Powell was voted in as the newly elected President despite the fact that several teams were deprived from voting by the outgoing President Denrick Liburd .

Incumbent, Denrick Liburd lost to challenger to Carlisle Powell by a two vote margin. Powell received 9 votes to Liburd’s 7.

With the tagline ‘Save Nevis Cricket’, Powell’s plans were all inclusive. They covered primary and secondary level, club cricket, umpires and grounds.

Some of his plans included:

  • Expanding the primary school competition from being a zonal competition to that of a round robin.
  • Playing more club cricket on a regular basis.
  • Host award functions to recognize Nevisian cricket officials

Powell brings a wealth of experience to the Administration of Nevis Cricket. He served in various capacities in the Nevis Cricket Association for several years as President and Secretary during that period Nevis dominated Cricket tournaments in the Leeward Islands at Senior and Youth levels.

In addition, he also served on the Leeward Islands Board as well as the West Indies Cricket Board.

Powell, who has a passion for cricket has made himself available to revive cricket on Nevis after many cricketers and cricket lovers were very upset with the non-existent league cricket on Nevis.

Mr Powell is the father of Nevis, Leeward Islands and West Indies batsman Kieran Powell.

The votes for the top positions were as follows:

Vice President – Denrick Liburd (12) to Kelvin Frazer (4)

Secretary – Jeannette Grell Hull 10 votes to Wingrove Powell (6)

Treasurer – Stascius Wallace (9) to Kesha Jones (7)

Asst. Secretary-Treasurer – Carol Pemberton-Benjamin (10) to Wingrove Powell (6)

The Management team comprises of:
Wendell Wallace; Carol Pemberton; Deo Hendrickson; Sharlene Martin; Frank Monzac and Saneldo Willett.

The Selectors are:
Winston Sutton; Elquemedo Willet; Ronald Powell and Frank Monzac.

Call Us At 663-8010 To Place Your Order

error: Our Content Is protected !!